Height advantage?

Hi!

I played spring Operation Koltso a lot and some SVN last week and I really enjoyed it. I played mostly with Journier, SpikedHelmet and others. Spring 1944 is the main reason I started playing Spring games. Right now I’m not at my gaming computer.

Here’s a suggestion that might already be implemented or limited by the spring engine but I think it could be easy to pulloff. I don’t know much about the coding. However, I wonder what kind of advantage height makes in spring 1944. I guess most ranged units, if not all, gets’ a little range boost, it’s harder to shoot units on a flat hill with arty and units that try to run up a hill takes more time doing so that they might bunch up and the defender have longer time to get reinforcement or flank the attacker.

Here is a subtle but yet realistic way of giving height advantage and also giving ditches and ridges more tactical use:

Make the point where Line Of Sight is estimated from, on infantry, higher then the point from which they are detected.

The infantry, set on manuover or issued a fight move, standing behind a ridge will move up until they can see and fire on the enemy infantry on the other side.
The enemy infantry won’t see them, giving the player with the ridge a slight advantage but as the enemy infantry moves closer to the ridge the defenders need to step up to fire and will be spotted by the enemy infantry that is further away neglecting the ridge advantage so it wouldn’t be a huge advantage.

Refering to reality that would be like you couldn’t see the infantry on the ridge because it’s only a head that is visible but hard to spot in the grass and you would need to move closer in order to get a good shot at them.

You could also make the point where they fire from higher then the targeting point.

I don’t know how to post pictures but I made some if that is needed to clarify my purpose.

Comments?