Complete newbie review.

Heard about the game form friend.
Googled spring 1944
Ended up on this site
Downloaded full installer from the downloads section
Ran the installer, installed the game (noticed that there was no “start spring1944” in the final installer menu)
The created shortcut is not in the same fashion as 1944 website theme/installer icon theme
Ran springlobby
Got about 4 messages stating that the whole thing is outdated
Let it download the new spring.exe version, which it. instead of downloading, redirected me to some website in my browser
Let it update itself, which it, instead of updating, told me that it could not fetch update and shown 2 C++ errors, while my system told me that springlobby stopped working, while it actually was working.

I gave up at this point.

Hope you will have better luck next time! Ill check back here in 6 months.
Hope what I said here helps.

Great review, would read again.

Thank you for the feedback Jak. We’ve focused mostly on the game itself, and as we’re just a hobbyist group, haven’t really expanded into the polish you might expect from a dev group that has money.

Anyways, we’re looking to release a new version fairly soon, so hopefully we can address some of these issues at that time.

I understand that this is not commercial project.

But you should also understand than I am an ordinary user, I do not do compiles, and I just like to play games, usually I pay for them, but some free games are really great too.

I do not think that I am obliged to figure out all of the bugs and issues with simple installation process of the game, as I would guess, many other users which come to this site to try a game.